top of page

Video View

Posted by

Eicke Weber round.png
Screen Shot 2019-04-22 at 8.54.14 PM.png
logo round ines.png

Prof. Eicke R. Weber


European Solar Manufacturing Council

Former Director, Fraunhofer ISE, Freiburg; Professor Emeritus, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, UC Berkeley

logo round ines.png

CBC Chair of R&D, Manufacturing & Supply Chain Hub; Chair of the World CleanTech Awards

Media Gallery

Downloads & Links

icon social www.png
icon white download.png

Social Media Share

linkedin white.png
icon social twitter.png
icon social facebook.png
icon social email.png

Published on:





TV Report

The Winners of World CleanTech Awards - 2021 Edition united in Dubai to drive the CleanTech Decade!

The Jury of the World CleanTech Awards revealed the Winners of its Edition 2021 during its Black-Tie Gala Ceremony held on March 14, 2022, in W Dubai - The Palm, Palm Jumeirah, Dubai, UAE as a special part of The 5th CBC Annual Leadership Forum "Leading Together The CleanTech Decade!"

The CleanTech Business Club (CBC) together with its strategic partners has been honouring visionary individuals since 2017, and now, for the first time, recognised innovative companies and startups championing the cleantech transformation mission.

“The 2021 edition of the World CleanTech Awards, formerly known as the Solar Future Today Visionary Influencers Awards, honoured for the first time not only visionary individuals but also visionary “well-established companies” and startups that pave the way for the cleantech transformation," said Prof. Eicke Weber, Chair of the WCA Jury, Chair of the European Solar Manufacturing Council and Former Director of Fraunhofer ISE. “We are incredibly excited to reveal the list of the Winners"

The Winners of the Special Lifetime Achievements Awards (for Visionary Individuals):

  • Shri K.S.Popli, Advisor at International Solar Alliance; Former CMD of Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency (IREDA); CBC Honorary Chair for India

  • Dr Arnulf Jaeger-Waldau, Senior Expert at European Commission, DG JRC (Joint Research Center)

Master Category: Visionary CleanTech Influencer of The Year (for Visionary Individuals) supervised by Dr David Renné, Immediate Past President at ISES; CBC Chair of Solar Technology Hub

The Winner: Prof. Mark Z. Jacobson, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Stanford University (also Recipient of WCA Visionary CleanTech Scientist Distinction)

WCA Distinction Recipients:

  • Visionary CleanTech Investor: Alexandre Rosa, Founder of WMF Energy

  • Visionary CleanTech Policy Decision-Maker (Hans Josef-Fell Distinction):

  • Christine Milne, Global Greens Ambassador; Former Leader of the Australian Greens and Senator for Tasmania

  • Minh Le, GM, Energy and Environmental Services at Los Angeles County ISD; Former Director, Solar Energy Technologies Office at U.S. Department of Energy

  • Visionary CleanTech Disruptor (Tony Seba Distinction):

  • Dr Hitesh Doshi, Chairman at Waaree Group; CBC Co-Chair for Asia & Chair for India

  • Dean Solon, Founder at Shoals Technologies Group

  • Daniel Huang, Founder & President at GoodWe; CBC Chair for China

  • Visionary CleanTech Educator (Mary O’Donnell Distinction):

  • Francesca Shirley, Schools Program Manager at Namene Solar

  • Peng Choo, Director at STEMSEL Foundation

  • Visionary CleanTech Student (Million Solar Stars Distinction): Maya Ramah, Senior - Grade 12 Student at Dunecrest American School

  • Visionary CleanTech StartUp Investor ( Eicke R. Weber Distinction): Fady Jameel, Deputy President and Vice-Chairman International of Abdul Latif Jameel

  • Visionary CleanTech Startup Founder (Charlie Gay Distinction): Ali Halabi, CEO, Founder at Volt Lines BV

Master Category: Visionary CleanTech Businesses of The Year supervised by Jean-Pascal Pham-Ba, Co-founder and CEO at SCALE.NGO; CBC Chair of Financial & Investor Hub (for Visionary Well-Established Companies)

The Winner: Fraunhofer ISE (also Recipient of WCA Visionary CleanTech R&D Institution Distinction)

WCA Distinction Recipients:

  • Visionary CleanTech Business & Technology Disruptor in Transportation: BYD

  • Visionary CleanTech Business & Technology Disruptor in Other Disruptive Technologies: H2 Industries

  • Visionary CleanTech Financial & Investment Institution: FAST-Infra Platform

  • Visionary CleanTech Utility Distinction: Eurelectric

Master Category:  Visionary CleanTech StartUp of The Year supervised by Anis Jouini, CEO at CEA-INES; CBC Chair of CleanTech StartUp & SME Hub

The Winner: Startupbootcamp (also Recipient of WCA Visionary CleanTech Incubator of the Yea Distinction)

WCA Distinction Recipients:

  • Visionary CleanTech StartUp in Energy:

  • EDPA

  • PowerUp

  • Visionary CleanTech StartUp in Other Disruptive Technologies: Sustainable Concepts & Autarcon

  • Visionary CleanTech VC of the Year Distinction: AP Ventures


For more information about the Word CleanTech Awards please visit

Contact us: Chair Office @World CleanTech Awards email us hereVisit us on social media: Twitter LinkedIn Youtube

...and last but not least, huge thanks to our Diamond Visionary Partners: Kopp, INES-CEA but also Enel Group and other Strategy Partners: Square Venues and The Content for supporting this remarkable gathering of our CBC, WCA & Enel Families. 

bottom of page